What’s on your mac? (Part II)

I’ve already listed a few of the programs that are in heavy rotation on my mac, but I left out a few. Here’s the second list.

  • NetNewsWire Lite – This is one of several feed aggregators for OS X. Before moving to NNW Lite, I was using Firefox as my browser and RSS reader. If you weren’t already aware, Firefox has a feature called Live Bookmarks. This is great when you want to check a couple feeds; just save your Live Bookmarks on your Bookmarks toolbar and peruse at your convenience. However, once you get more than seven or so, the Bookmarks toolbar starts to get crowded.
    Enter NetNewsWire Lite. It’s true that there are others out there (NewsFire, Vienna, etc.), but I tried NNW Lite first and liked it. As an aggregator for my 10-12 feeds, it works great.
  • The Missing Sync – This is a great app for syncing your PDA [read: Treo 650] with your mac. I tried going with the Palm Desktop and iSync, but it was just really messy to try to get categories to sync correctly. I don’t even remember if I ever got it to work completely with the Palm Desktop. Anyways, The Missing Sync works really well for syncing up iCal events and todos, and your Address Book contacts. It has its own little app for managing your memos, which is nice because I use memos pretty often for random notes. It has other features like syncing with AvantGo, iTunes, and other media, which is nice if you need that functionality. But I do need my calendar, todos, and contacts, and this program syncs them faithfully to my PDA.
  • On The Job – This app is useful for anyone who does any freelance work and needs a way of keeping track of the services provided. Personally, I do some IT work on the side and needed some way of recording my hours on each project. I know I could do it easily with a spreadsheet, but I don’t currently have a spreadsheet app, and ended up stumbling across this app first. It lets you create job and task records related to the job. You can record hours worked and services provided. It also has a very easy mechanism for creating invoices. It’s a pretty slick app.

So these are a few of the other programs you should at least check out.

4 Responses to “What’s on your mac? (Part II)”


  1. 1 garcinia cambogia hca August 4, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    Asking questions are genuinely good thing if you are not understanding something totally, but
    this article provides fastidious understanding even.

  2. 2 garcinia cambogia pure extract with potassium amd too much April 3, 2014 at 1:07 am

    Because the admin of this web page is working, no doubt
    very soon iit will be renowned, due to its feature
    contents.

  3. 3 Garcinia cambogia apple Macbook pro review cnet April 30, 2014 at 11:41 am

    Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new
    to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll
    be book-marking and checking back frequently!


  1. 1 hca garcinia Trackback on September 15, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Leave a comment




January 2007
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031