Quicksilver Ninjitsu

Quicksilver is by far one of the most useful applications I’ve installed on my MacBook. With it, I can launch applications, move files, send emails, and much more, all within the confines of a few keystrokes. For someone who doesn’t particularly like having to use a mouse to get around, this is great. And, sure Spotlight has some similar functionality, but it’s just not the utility that Quicksilver is. As some of you read this, I’m sure you’re thinking “Rebby, this is no news to me. I’ve been using QS since b49. If Quicksilver were the Matrix, I’d be Neo (only with better acting). Heck, I’m a regular Quicksilver ninja.” Well, fantastic, Mr. Q.S.Ninja. But I want you to prove it. I want to find out what are some of the most useful features of Quicksilver that you actually use. Below is list of some of my more common Quicksilver moves. You can leave yours in the comments.

Quicksilver Ninjitsu:

Command+Space, then

  • “mail[tab]get” – Get my new mail with great stealth!
  • “mail[tab]open” – Get and open my new mail or commit seppuku!
  • “.[somewordidon’tknow][tab]di” – Assasinate my ignorance by defining that word I don’t know with ninja speed using the built-in dictionary.
  • “s[enter]” – EXECUTE Safari…In the “run that program” sense.
  • “[thatuseddmgfileidon’tneed][tab]motot” – DESTROY that file.dmg by slashing it into a million little bits stored in my trashcan!
  • MommaMy Arch Nemesis[tab]compose” – Tell my mom I love her.Issue a warning of an inevitable downfall by my sword!

These are only some of the more basic moves I know. How awesome is your ninjitsu?

4 Responses to “Quicksilver Ninjitsu”


  1. 1 taro February 6, 2007 at 9:37 am

    Cool blog, you posted a comment on mine and I found my way here.

    To be honest QS confuses the hell out of me I don’t really know how to use it properly at the moment I just look for a file and then open with an application. Know of any tips or beginners guides? I’m also in the same situation with automator I take it both programmes are similar.

    Cheers

    T

  2. 2 rebbybrarbs February 6, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    There are some tutorials out there. I’ll see what I can find.

  3. 3 Leonard May 30, 2013 at 4:07 am

    First of all I want to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.
    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first
    10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any suggestions or tips? Kudos!

  4. 4 mexican food June 8, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Whats up this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to
    manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!


Leave a comment




January 2007
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031